Sunday, 12 December 2010

X-Factor hmmmm.....

This writer has been quite disgusted by the sacrilege that has been performed against Biffy Clyro tonight.

Quite frankly, he does not care who sanctioned this arse to perform "Many of Horror" and he doesn't care whether it was indeed the members of Biffy! He just preys it wasn't!

This writer wishes there was a campaign much like last Christmas, where the nation of music lovers, and not those who had seen some bloke singing on a TV programme and thought, "Oh, i know him lets buy his single, but forget who he is by Easter", stood up against Cowell et al, and bought Rage Against the Machine!!

It was a statement against manufactured shite that is created by a glorified talent contest that is a TV programme and nothing more.

Who won last year? Who cares!!

Maybe Biffy Clyro sanctioned whatever-his-name-is-who-won to sing and release their song, but quite frankly i don't care. They could have allowed the whole lot of them to release it as a mass sing-a-long for any charity, what a wonderful way to promote the brand, whilst cynically claiming to be totally behind a well deserved cause.

This is just the straw that broke the camel's back, and this writer is furious that this twunt has been able to sing this beautiful song and virtually claim it as his own.

Ask any random pillock on the street between now and March who sang "Many of Horror" and they'll say thingy from X-Factor. NO!!!!!

This is a pointless rant against the masses, and there will be many of my peers and those who i look up to, who unfortunately seem to watch this load of toss and comment on Twitter as if any of it had any significance whatsoever. They even seem to enjoy it. Christ alive!!

However i felt empassioned to write something and explain my feelings, as i cannot stand it anymore.

FOR GOD'S SAKE PEOPLE, IT IS A MEANINGLESS TV PROGRAMME, THAT IS ELEVATED TO SOME KIND OF MAMMOTH MOMENT IN HUMAN HISTORY.

It seems that i contradict myself. On one hand i denounce X-Factor as a load of nonsense but none the less, a cultural institution, and lambaste it with vitriol, whilst on the other claim it is a meaningless light entertainment show with no long lasting meaning. Why am i so bothered by it?

Maybe because it is given credence by major recording artists with talent (Will.i.am aside). Maybe because it invades the Christmas charts. Maybe because every year it is the same old rubbish that end up covering something and take it to number 1 (except for last year, woo hoo).

That is enough. Haven't you earned enough now Simon? Fuck off to America and make a buck or two and give us a break. I bet no-one really notices if it isn't there this time next year.

Here's hoping.

No comments:

Post a Comment