Monday, 6 December 2010

........but the ashes are!!!

Have to admit, i thought we'd get done by the weather. Or that the Aussies would stick it out, but they capitulated. England style. The England we used to know. Although there is still time.

What you have to remember, however, is that it is 1-0, Mr Ponting.

Whilst Perth will be different (the day's play starts at 2am here for one), as Bumble, Nas, Athers and Sir Beefy have commented on the past two days (nights), quite frankly we are better than them. They can talk about a team in transition until they are blue in the face, England must have been in transition for 15 odd years then.

Ponting said in the aftermath of Swanny ripping them apart, that the bowling attack is comparable, it was just that England showed better discipline. That and better line, consistency, swing and spin. Apart from them, we were even-stevens. He also alluded to it being the little things like them being unable to hold catches and England taking them. Considering catching and fielding is a third of the game of cricket its not such a "little thing", Ricky!

What he did nearly slip out is that there is a good chance there will be big changes as he is meeting the Chairman of the Australian Selectors that evening.

As Richard Herring put on Twitter, Australia were 549 for 20, England were 620 for 5.

They'll need Warne, McGrath, Gilchrist et al to come out of retirement to sway that kind of batting and bowling form.

Of course England could self-destruct and Australia won't have to step up.

You get the feeling that isn't going to happen though and with England only requiring one test victory to retain the Ashes, let alone win it outright, its looking good for that little urn to be travelling back in Andrew Strauss's carry on luggage.

No comments:

Post a Comment