What is Sepp Blatter and Michel Platini's problem with England? Seriously! I mean , is it just simple jealousy. Platini as we know was a footballer, Blatter on the other hand I'm not sure, possibly, he can't have been that good, or we'd have heard of him as a world great. Maybe he was a sturdy centre-half for Basel or Grasshopper Zurich. No, a goalkeeper definitely. If he played he was a goalie. Or maybe he was the inspiration for Mr Toad from Wind in the Willows.
Cheap shot maybe, but his constant anti-English spite is wearing thin. Grinding my gears if you will!
This is on the back of his gushing sentiments regarding Cristiano Ronaldo's transfer to Real Madrid for a mind-bogglingly ridiculous £80m. Or euros. Or U.S dollars. I think it was a new World Record transfer fee, depending on the exchange rate for € to £. Or € to $. Or £ to $. Or if the moon is in Uranus. Or if FIFA say so.
For some reason this ridiculous amount of money is OK for a person that can kick a football quite hard with a clever little dip right at the end to totally bamboozle the goalkeeper and all in attendance and leave them foaming at the mouth.
Never mind that it would bail out Northern Rock Building Society, or pay off a third world countries debt or house the world's homeless. For some reason the fact that it was Real Madrid is fine. Not only that though, they had already splashed out £56m on Kaka, and will being signing David Villa from Valencia for £40m imminently.
Speaking in South Africa, before the beginning of the Confederations Cup, Blatter said " We are in a very sensitive market these days, but in football we are in a good market. It is a game of the people, and people want their stars, OK it is a lot of money, but he is performing".
He also described Ronaldo as "the Picasso of football" and two years ago claimed Ronaldo was a "modern day slave" because Manchester United did not want to sell him. You could build a case that Blatter has more than a professional interest in the Portugese winger.
How this contrasts to his opinions regarding Manchester City's attempted bid to sign Kaka for £100m. He said at the time "Is it morally acceptable to offer such sums of money for just one player". Now let me just clarify: Is he suggesting £100m is morally corrupt but £80m is absolutely acceptable?
During the same press conference yesterday, he always made a comparison between the transfer of Luis Figo from Barcelona to Real Madrid for £37m and the sale of a Picasso painting for £100m at Sotherbys and that this was hidden away for no-one to see, but the transfer of a footballer is there for all to see. Now he assumes we all should have equal interest in art as football. I'll leave the comments about women footballers needing tighter shorts for another day, but this does not only demonstrate his clear bias against England and the Premier league but also a chemical imbalance in the mans brain.
I would love for someone to put these contradicting quotes to him at a future public event, such as the next Miss Switzerland contest or maybe even at the after-party for Ronaldo's un-veiling at Madrid, something he obviously wants to celebrate.
What he has against us i'd like to know. I realise he and Platini have a huge problem with the influx of foreign owners of Premier league clubs, but we never hear them pose a question as to where Real or Barcelona get their bottomless pit of cash from. Its quite fascinating.
Personally, whilst they can do very little or nothing about the money our clubs have or the amounts we wish to spend on players while their favourite clubs get to spend what they like, i call for Monsieur Blatter to "Shut the fuck up".
No comments:
Post a Comment